Skip to main content

Manage roles

Roles are a collection of permissions, which can then be assigned, en masse, to a user or a group. Using roles is a way to quickly grant permissions; by adding a user to a group with the appropriate assigned roles, any user in that group then inherits all of those permissions that are assigned to the role.

info

Roles are intended to be assigned to groups, not to individual users. However, in some cases it's practical to assign a role straight to a user, so authentik implements that functionality.

Create a role

To create a new role, follow these steps:

  1. In the Admin interface, navigate to Directory > Roles.
  2. Click New Role, enter the name of the role, and then click Create Role to save.
  3. Next, assign permissions for the role.

Modify a role

To modify a role, follow these steps:

  • To edit the name of the role, click the Edit icon beside the role's name.

  • To modify the permissions that are assigned for the role, click the role's name to go to the role's detail page. There you can add or remove permissions. For more information, refer to "Assign or remove permissions for a specific role".

Delete a role

To delete a role, follow these steps:

  1. In the Admin interface, navigate to Directory > Roles.
  2. Select the checkbox beside the name of the role that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

Assign a role to a group

  1. To assign the role to a group, navigate to Directory > Groups.
  2. Click the name of the group to which you want to add a role.
  3. On the group's detail page, on the Overview tab, click Edit in the Group Info area.
  4. On the Update Group box, in the Roles field, select the roles you want to assign to the group from the list of Available Roles in the left box (you can select multiple roles at once by holding the Shift key while selecting the roles), and then click the appropriate arrow icon to move them into the Selected Roles box.
  5. Click Update to add the role(s) and close the box.

Starting with authentik 2026.2.7, 2026.5.7 and 2026.8.2, assigning a role to a group requires the global Can change Role permission, in addition to the permission to change the group. The permission assigned on a specific role is not sufficient. This applies to a group's own Roles field; a group also inherits the roles of its parent groups, which is governed by the permission to change the group.

Assign a role to a user

See add user to a role.